The Distance

the distance cover

“There’s a subtle understanding verging on tenderness permeating this album, combined with a quiet authority that allows the songs to come to you through their poetic lyrics, delivering their messages and holding your attention throughout. ‘The Distance’ is rich with lyrical gems, from ‘Time’s Dark Wing’ and ‘Jessie’s Gone’, through ‘Whose Angel Child’ and ‘You’ve Got To Love This Road’, to ‘In The Fall’ and ‘The Rule Of The Heart’ – each one leaving you trapped in their magic and aching for it to remain.” [Tom Franks, Folkwords Reviews, November 2017]

We’re pleased to announce the release of our new cd, ‘The Distance’, on the Folkwit label. It was recorded in Nottingham by Steve Benford and Frank McCarthy and produced by Steve, and features the current band line-up.

All songs are by Phil Langran except for the traditional tune ‘Kitty Tyrell’. Phil co-wrote ‘To Be Continued’ with Jamie MacRae and Grace Morton at Moniack Mhor Creative Writing Centre. Special thanks to Kathryn Williams, Roddy Woomble and all the February Songwriters for a brilliant, inspiring week. The title track, ‘The Distance’ was also written at Moniack Mhor. Most of the other material has been bubbling away in Phil’s brain and fingers for a fair chunk of the twenty-first century. For the academically inclined here are a few reference points: Henry Vaughan, William Maxwell, Emily Dickinson, Jesse Winchester, Jeffrey Lent, Charles Frazier, William Gay, Ecclesiastes 12:5 and the near, middle and far distance.

  • Phil Langran                vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Steve Benford             acoustic guitar, vocals
  • Frank McCarthy         electric guitar, vocals
  • Mark Walker               bass, vocals
  • Alistair Bloomfield     fiddle
  • Vocal arrangements     Frank McCarthy

Track Listing:

  1. Time’s Dark Wing
  2. The Distance
  3. Jesse’s Gone
  4. Kitty Tyrell/Sky Gathering
  5. Whose Angel Child
  6. You’ve Got to Love this Road
  7. In the Fall
  8. The Rule of the Heart
  9. The Long Home
  10. To Be Continued


C&P 2017 Phil Langran

Cover Artwork Tom Partridge

Photography Max Langran

Recorded by Steve Benford and Frank McCarthy in Nottingham

Produced by Steve Benford

For Penny, Linda, Ariane, Sharon and Jenny